ANFA Cup final

Sept. 10 - Jhapa XI beat Sankata to lift the title of ANFA Cup 2071 after a 4-0 win at Dasarath Stadium on Wednesday. Karna Limbu, Dilan Loktan, Bikash Rai and Buddha Chemjong scored for the winning team.

Coach of CMG Sankata Bijaya Maharjan said: “We hit the woodwork twice when the score was still unchanged and the boys felt a bit low after that. The referee’s decision demoralized our lads and we could not keep up with the performance thereafter,” said Maharjan referring to Suraj Thing’s sending off for two yellow cards.

Winning Coach Bhagirath Ale was happy with the performance and said this is a positive for Nepalese Football. ‘Our win in such big tournament shows that there is possibility of development of football outside valley as well. Our team had confidence to win and we did without any hiccups even though we were given hard time at the start”, said Ale.

The winning team bagged Rs. 1 million, while the runners-up won Rs. 500,000. The two semi-finalists, Tribhuwan Army and Nepal APF were awarded Rs 100,000 each. The individual winners of each category were rewarded Rs. 50,000, while the Best Player of the Tournament won a Yamaha Motorcycle.


Best Goalkeeper: Dinesh Thapa Magar (Jhapa XI)

Best Defender: Devendra Tamang (Jhapa XI)

Best Midfielder: Barsat Gurung (CMG Club Sankata)

Best Forward: Bishal Rai ‘A’ (Jhapa XI)

Best Coach: Bhagirath Ale (Jhapa XI)

Best Player of The Tournament: Suman Lama (CMG Club Sankata)