Army lifts Lalit Memorial U-18 title

29 June 2016 – Tribhuwan Army Club defeated Jagadamba Lumbini Football Club on tie breaker to lift the first edition of Lalit Memorial U18 Football Tournament in ANFA Complex on Wednesday.


In the final where both teams had their chances to clinch the title in regulation time, the match was decided in penalty after the score was leveled in 1-1. Army won the title 3-1 in tiebreaker after heroic show from both the goalkeepers. Jagadamba Lumbini took the lead in the 6th minute after Janom Man Ligal headed in the corner. Army leveled the scoring from the spot in the 75th minute after the referee penalized the defender for holding inside the box during the corner. Prezen Tamang then stepped up to take the kick and he converted the shot.

In the tiebreaker, Abhisekh Rijal, Dorje Tamang and Prezen Tamang converted the penalty for Army. Dinesh Henjan and Anosh Magar’s shot was saved by Lumbini’s custodian. Lumbini’s takers had a tough luck as Army’s goalie saved the shots from skipper Janom Man Ligal, Mandeep Thapa and Tejendra Pun. Ranjit Thapa converted the only spotkick.

Army were rewarded with Rs.3,00,000 while Lumbini won Rs.1,50,000. Individual winners were also awarded with Rs.15,000 each.

Chakra Tamang: "As the team had conceded heavily in the league match against Lumbini, my boys were nervous in the first half. In the second half, we switched positions, and I guess that worked  out well. The tournament is a good platform to scout new talents. "

Bikash Gurung: "The referee decision against us in the second half was harsh. The penalty that was awarded against us was the turning point of the match."

Individual award winners bagged a cash prize of Rs. 15,000 each.

Best coach: Chakra Tamang (Army)

Best FW: Janom Man Ligal (Lumbini)

Best DF: Suman Aryal (Army)

Best MF: Damodar Thapa Cheetri (Lumbini)

Best GK: Sushil Basnet (Sankata)