Shrestha, Kunwar elected

24 Oct, 2016 – Narendra Shrestha and Mani Kunwar were elected as the President and Vice President of the All Nepal Football Association in the 15th ANFA Congress on Monday.

Out of 67 votes, Narendra Shrestha got 36 votes while Karma Tshering Sherpa accumulated 31 votes.

In the election for the Vice President post, Mani Kunwar got the victory with 34 votes. Deepak Khati got 25 votes while Upendra Man Singh had 8 votes.

After the result, both the candidates were congratulated by delegation from AFC (Ravi Kumar and Purushottam Kattel) and FIFA (Luca Nicola). The election went smoothly said Coordinator of the Election Committee, Sujit KC, congratulating the winners.

The winning candidates also thanked all the districts and clubs for their support throughout the campaign and election.

"This is not only my win, the win is of Nepalese Football Family. I feel that this is the result of my dedication and passion towards Football. This is the result of teamwork, just as in the game.", Shrestha said. "He also said that this election sent a message that people have opted for change.  All of us, including FIFA and AFC are happy with the procedure.", Shrestha ended.

Kunwar also thanked all the football family for their support and said that the better days in the football are on the way.

Likewise, the congress also approved the decision to nominate Tashi Ghale as an Honorary President