Planning Boys United promoted to B division

Planning Boys United have been promoted to the B division after defeating relegated Oasis Club 5-0 in the Martyr's Memorial 'C' Division League 2022 on Friday. 

RC32 Football Academy, also in contention for the promotion, could only manage a goalless draw against Sports Academy Sangha at Dasharath Stadium.

RC32 needed a win and hope Planning Boys drop points in their final game to secure promotion.

Fagu Ram Tharu scored a hat-trick and Arjun Kumar Rana and Om Prakash Chaudhary scored another in Planning Boys win. 

Tharu scored in the third, eighth and 16th minute of the game. Rana scored in the 43rd minute and Chaudhary added the fifth in the 82nd. 

Planning won nine matches and drew four matches in the league. They are the only team not to lose any match in the league.

Read more


Prison Football, Rehabilitation Through Football programme to be launched

Shelter Ashraya Nepal in coordination with Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has unveiled plans to launch Prison Football, Rehabilitation Through Football programme.

A press meet was organized at ANFA Complex in Satdobato in this regard on Wednesday. ANFA General Secretary Indraman Tuladhar and Shelter Ashraya Nepal Chairperson Khusbu Oli exchanged the memorandum of understanding in the press meet.

Oli said the programme was aimed at capacity building of prisoners through the means of football. "We are bringing the players, referee and coach education programme and help in growing the confidence of the prisoners and prevent them from returning to their previous life. This also helps in their mental health and develop a desire to work for the betterment of the society," Oli said.

The programme aims to train 48 players and 32 referees and coaches each in two phases to be conducted in a year. The first phase from June 5 to November 30 will produce 24 players and 16 referees and coaches each.

The second phase will be conducted from December 1 to May 2023. The coaches will receive D License, referees will receive Category IV certificate and players will receive participation certificate upon the completion of the course.

Read more


Jhapa Football Club promoted to B Division, Birgunj, Oasis down

Jhapa Football Club have been promoted to B Division with a game remaining after defeating Birgunj Youth Club 5-0 in the Martyr's Memorial 'C' Division League 2022.

Jhapa have a three point lead over both Planning Boys United and RC 32 Football Academy, both of which are tied on 28 points. Jhapa had defeated RC 32 and even if Jhapa lose their final group game and RC32 win theirs, Jhapa will still remain above RC32 by virtue of superior head-to-head difference.

Pujan Rai scored four and Santosh Lawati scored one for Jhapa. Rai scored his first in the 13th and added his second in the 65th. He completed his hat-trick in the 74th before adding a fourth in the fifth minute of added time. Lawati's goal came in the fourth minute of additional time of the game.

Of the 12 games played, Jhapa have won 10 of them and drawn one.

Birgunj Youth Academy, meanwhile, have been relegated to C Qualifiers. Oasis Club's relegation was already confirmed after their defeat to Mahabir Club.

Read more


Nepal to play friendlies against Timor-Leste and Oman in Qatar

The national men's football team will play friendlies against Timor Leste and Oman in Qatar where they will be in closed camp in preparation for the AFC Asian Cup 2023 Qualifiers.

The friendly against Timor-Lester will be played on May 28 while the second friendly against Oman will be played on June 3. The first match does not fall under the FIFA window but the second one does.

Nepal are drawn alongside Jordan, Kuwait and Indonesia in the Group A of the AFC Asian Cup 2023 Qualifiers in Kuwait.

Nepal will play its first game against Jordan on June 8 followed by against Kuwait on June 11. The final game against Indonesia will be played on June 14.

Read more