Women's Football news


  • 2019-09-10

Nadezha Cup: Nepal defeats Tajikistan, enters finals

Nepal defeated Tajikistan 1-0 in the ongoing Nadehda Cup 2019 to enter the finals of the tournament.

Nepal were clearly the better side as the team created chances but failed to break Tajik’s defense.

Sabitra Bhandari scored a header goal for Nepal in the 89th minute to give Nepal a lead.

Nepal will now face Uzbekistan in the finals of the tournament on September 12, 2019.

Nepal are taking this tournament as part of the preparations for the South Asian Games (SAG) that is happening this year in Nepal.

Read more
  • 2019-09-05

Nepal U15 Girls Final Squad Announced

Nepal U15 Girls final squad has been finalized by head coach Rakesh Shrestha.

The Nepal U15 side led by Shrestha is set to participate in the SAFF U15 Women’s Championship.

The age-group tournament is hosted by Bhutan from 9 to 15 October, 2019 in Thimpu.

Final Squad:

Goalkeepers: Sabitri Kishan, Puja Thapa, Lila joshi

Defenders: Kumari Tamang, Saru Hamal, Manju Khadka, Pratiksha Chaudhary, Devya Yasmali Magar, Sabina Chaudhary, Pushpa Gurung

Midfielders: Anu Rai, Suraksha Sukhariya, Mamata Pun, Sara Bajracharya, Man Maya Damai, Susma GT, Manisha Raut, Sunkala Rai, Asmita Ranapal

Forwards: Preeti Rai, Amisha Karki, Mandira Rai, Nikita Thokar

Read more
  • 2019-09-04

ANFA bids farewell to Women's Team

All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has bid farewell to the Nepal national women’s football team on Wednesday.

Nepal is set to participate in Nadezhda Cup to be held from September 8 to 12 in Kyrgyzstan.

Apart from the host Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Nepal are competing in the tournament. The tournament will be played in round-robin format and the top two teams will make it the finals.

Nepal are taking this tournament as part of the preparations for the South Asian Games (SAG) that is happening this year in Nepal.

National Sports Council Member Secretary Ramesh Siwal, ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa, ANFA Senior VP Pankaj Bikram Nembang and ANFA General Secretary Indraman Tuladhar among other bade farewell to the team.


Goalkeepers: Anjila Tumbapo Subba, Anjana Rana Magar

Defenders: Punam Jargha Magar, Hira Kumari Bhujel, Amrita Jaisi, Gita Rana, Kabita Dhimal

Midfielders: Dipa Rai, Renuka Nagarkote, Anita Basnet, Manjali Kumari Yonjan, Saru Limbu, Bimala Chaudhary, Indira Rai

Forwards: Niru Thapa (C), Rekha Poudel, Anita KC, Sabitra Bhandari

Read more
  • 2019-09-01

Khadka reduces squad to 32

Nepal women’s team Head coach Hari Khadka today downsized his provisional squad to 32 for the South Asian Games (SAG).

The squad will be reduced to final 23 members before the travels to Kyrgyzstan to participate in the Nadezhda Cup in September.

32-member squad:

Goalkeepers: Anjila Tumbapo Subba, Anjana Rana Magar, Usha Nath, Rabita Rai

Defenders: Hira Kumari Bhujel, Gita Rana, Manmaya Limbu, Nisha Thokar, Punam Jargha Magar, Bimala B.K, Puja Rana Magar, Rojina Shrestha, Ghim Kumari Gurung, Amrita Jaisi, Kabita Dhimal

Midfielders: Manjali Kumari Yonjan, Renuka Nagarkote, Anita Basnet, Indira Rai, Bimala Chaudhary, Deepa Rai, Sapana Lama, Sharmila Thapa, Sabita Rana Magar, Preeti Rai, Saru Limbu

Forwards: Sabitra Bhandari, Anita KC, Rekha Poudel, Niru Thapa, Krishna Khatri, Rashmi Kumari Ghising

Read more
  • 2019-08-13

Nepal Women's Team to compete in Nadezhda Cup

As part of the preparations for the South Asian Games to be held in Nepal this December, the Nepal National Women's Team will be competing in the Nadezhda Cup 2019 to held in Kyrgyzstan from Sept. 8-12. A total of four teams-Nepal, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan - shall compete in the tournament. 

The tournament will be staged in the city Karakol, Issyk-Kul region.

The organizers said that the tournament matches will be held according to the Laws of the Game of Football (edition 2019-2020), which is approved by the IFAB.

If no winner is determined at the end of normal playing time during the Final Stage, Kicks from the Penalty Mark shall be taken in accordance with the Laws of the Games and the manual.

Match Fixtures:

08/09/2019 Tajikistan vs Uzbekistan

08/09/2019 Kyrgyz Republic vs Nepal

09/09/2019 Uzbekistan vs Nepal

09/09/2019 Tajikistan vs Kyrgyz Republic

10/09/2019 Nepal vs Tajikistan

10/09/2019 Kyrgyz Republic vs Uzbekistan

12/09/2019 Place 3 vs Place 4

12/09/2019 Place 1- Place 2

Read more
  • 2019-07-28

Nepal Women’s Football Team Begin Preparation for SAG

Nepal Women’s national football team have started their training at the ANFA Complex, Satdobato today for the South Asian Games (SAG).

A total of 29 players amongst the 42- member preliminary squad reported first to their head coach Hari Khadka and attended the opening day training session.

The women’s team had recently produced a spirited performance under Khadka, who led the squad to silver medals at the SAFF Women’s Championship and Hero Women’s Gold Cup.

“Our prime target is to win and keep the trophy home. We will work hard on those areas where we need to improve to do well in the showpiece event,” said head coach Khadka.

Nepal is hosting the multi-sports event in Kathmandu and Pokhara from 1-10 December 2019. 

Preliminary Squad: 

Nisha Thokar, Saru Limbu, Anjali Kumari Yonjan, Anjila Tumbapo Subba, Rekha Poudel, Hira Kumari Bhujel, Gita Rana, Manmaya Limbu, Renuka Nagarkote, Anita Basnet, Sabitra Bhandari, Anita KC, Bimala B.K, Puja Rana Magar, Punam Jargha Magar, Anjana Rana Magar, Sunita Chaudhary, Kabita Dhimal, Indira Rai, Sharmila Thapa, Deepa Rai, Krishna Khatri, Ghim Kumari Gurung, Amrita Jaisi, Niru Thapa, Srijana Khadka, Nirmala B.K, Deepa Neupane, Usha Nath, Samikshya Ghimire, Basanti Nath Ghimire, Rashmi Kumari Ghising, Manisha Raut, Sabita Rana Magar, Saloni Rana Magar, Rebika Rai, Rojina Shrestha, Preeti Rai, Manisha Thapa, Samjhana Lawat

Read more
  • 2019-06-27

Biratnagar Municipality lifts Deputy Mayor Football title

Biratnagar Municipality lifted the Deputy Mayor Inter Municipality Football Tournament trophy with a 4-1 tiebreaker victory over Barhabise Municipality at the Halchowk Stadium on Thursday.

The final match was pushed to tiebreaker after both teams failed to break a 1-1 goal deadlock in the regulation time.

Rekha Poudel, Ima Rai, Bidhya Rana and Manmaya Limbu scored for Biratnagar in the tiebreaker, while Rubina Pahari only netted for Barhabise.

Samjhana Lawati had earlier provided lead to Barhabise in the 27th minute.

Jamuna Magar then leveled the score for Biratnagar in the 47th minute.

Biratnagar collected Rs.5 lakhs and Barhabise received Rs. 3 lakhs.

Individual Awards:

Most Valuable Player: Rekha Poudel (Biratnagar)

Best Goalkeeper:  Kalpana karki (Biratnagar)

Best Defender: Sarita Sherpa (Barhabise)

Best Midfielder: Rajani Shrestha (Barhabise)

Best Forward: Parbati Ghale (Barhabise)

Best Coach: Paras Chaudhary (Biratnagar)

Read more
  • 2019-06-14

Deputy Mayor Women's Football Kicks Off!

Deputy Mayor Cup Inter-Municipality Women’s Football Tournament kicked off on Friday at the APF Stadium, Halchowk.

In the opening match, Tulsipur Sub-Metropolitan City and Bansgadhi Municipality played a 2-2 draw.

Nepal Women’s International Puja Rana (11’ & 37’) scored for Bansdadhi while Dipa Pun Magar (21’) and Mamta Pun Magar (25’) scored for Tulsipur.

In the second match, Chandrapur Municipality thrashed Godawari Municipality 4-0. Sabita Rana Magar (24'), Rajani Thokar (47'), Rashmi Kumari Ghising (64') and Nisha Thokar (66') scored a goal each for Chandrapur. 

A total of 18 teams are participating the championship which has a winning purse of Rs. 5 Lakhs. The second place finisher will receive Rs. 5 Lakhs.

Read more
Leave a Message