Competition news


  • 2019-11-11

Bhutan's Changlimithang approved as Neutral Venue

The Asian Football Confederation on Monday approved Changlimithang Stadium as the neutral venue for the FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers/ Prelimiary Round II match between Nepal and Kuwait on November 19.

The All Nepal Football Association and the Bhutan Football Federation had made an agreement to arrange all logistic matters for the match on November 19.

The ANFA has asked BFF for the permission to play the match at the Changlimithang Stadium after AFC's inspection at the Dasarath Stadium on 5 November. The AFC requested ANFA to swap the venue of home match and nominate another venue on a neutral ground due to renovations at the Dasarath Stadium.

Read more
  • 2019-11-11

AFC U-19 Qualifiers

Nepal plays goalless draw with Kyrgyzstan in their last match of the AFC U-19 Championship 2020 Qualifiers Group D.

Nepal had earlier lost 4-0 to hosts Iran and 4-0 against UAE.

The results means Nepal are out the qualifiers.  

Read more
  • 2019-10-19

KC trims squad to 31-member

Nepal U19 head coach Megh Raj KC today trimmed his provisional 48-member squad to 31-member for the upcoming AFC U19 Championship 2020 Qualifiers. 

The qualifiers is set to begin from November 6 in IR Iran. 

Nepal is in Group D of the Qualifiers alongside UAE, IR Iran and Kyrgyz Republic.


Goalkeepers: Bishal Sunar, Rohit Karki, Surya Adhikari, Pujan Hona. 

Defenders: Bishal Basnet, Randip Paudel, Padam Bhattarai, Ashim Guung, Anjal Maharjan, Nabin Gurung, Roshan Dong, Bikash Khawash, Yogesh Gurung, Bijaya Shrestha, Nirajan Maharjan. 

Midfielders: Darshan Gurung, Sishir Lekhi, Roshan Rana Magar, Ranjan Pun, Akash Buda Magar, Jaya Gurung, Manish Thapa, Nitin Thapa, Anil Maharjan, Dinesh Hemjan. 

Forwards: Brijesh Chaudhary, Niraj Chaudhary, Manish Dangi, Rajiv Lopchan, Rejin Subba, Dipesh Ale Magar. 

Read more
  • 2019-10-18

ANFA Bids Farewell to Futsal Team

The All Nepal Football Association today bade farewell to the Nepal National Futsal Team travelling to Iran for the AFC Futsal Championship Turkmenistan 2020 Qualifiers.

The Qualifiers is set to be held in IR Iran from 23-25 October, 2019.

In the qualifiers, Nepal has been grouped with Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Afghanistan.

The team will leave for IR Iran on Sunday monring. 

Squad: Aadil Hamid, Aashish Lama, Anish Shrestha, Aruj Singh, Bijay Gurung (C), Bijay Shrestha, Mani Lama, Nirmal Gurung, Saroj Tamang, Sanjg Chamling, Sumit Kumar Ale, Abhay Rana. 

Read more
  • 2019-10-03

48-member provisional squad for AFC U19 Qualifiers announced

Newly appointed head coach of Nepal U19 team Megh Raj KC has invited 48-member provisional squad ahead of the AFC U19 Championship 2020 Qualifiers in IR Iran from November 6. 

Nepal is in Group D of the Qualifiers alongside UAE, IR Iran and Kyrgyz Republic.

The invited players are expected to report for the preparation camp from October 11, 2019.

Provisional Squad:

Brijesh Chaudhary, Sachu Gurung, Niraj Chaudhary, Kailash Lamichhane, Darshan Gurung, Manish Dangi, Sishir Lekhi, Dipesh Gurung, Roshan Rana Magar, Ranjan Pun, Akash Buda Magar, Rejin Majhi, Jaya Gurung, Manish Thapa, Kushal Phuyal, Nitin Thapa, Bishal Basnet, Randip Paudel, Padam Bhattarai, Ashim Gurung, Sujan Sharma, Nabin Gurung, Roshan Dong, Bishant Basnet, Alik Rumba, Anjal Maharjan, Bishal Sunar, Rohit Karki, Surya Adhikari, Pujan Hona, Ashim Bhusal, Bikash Khawash, Karma Sherpa, Bishal Sahi, Bijaya Shrestha, Nirajan Maharjan, Ram Gurung, Yubesh Thapa Magar, Mahesh Shah, Rajiv Lopchan, Anil Maharjan, Mausam Karki, Mausam Subba, Nisen Subba, Rejin Subba, Dinesh Hemjan, Dipesh Ale Magar, Yogesh Gurung

Read more
  • 2019-10-02

Megh Raj appointed U-19 head coach

Three Star Head Coach Megh Raj KC has been appointed the coach of the Nepal U-19 National Team for the AFC U-19 Qualifiers scheduled to be held in IR Iran from Nov.6.

The position was vacant after the previous coach Chet Narayan Shrestha announced his resignation following Nepal's unexpected faring in the SAFF U-18 Championship 2019 held in Kathmandu from Sept. 20-29.

Nepal, who were the defending champions, crashed out from the group stages following defeats by Bhutan and draw by the Maldives.

Other positions (GK Coach and Assistant Coach) which also remain vacant will be filled in shortly.

Nepal are in  Group D with host IR Iran, United Arab Emirates, and the Kyrgyz Republic.

Read more
  • 2019-09-27

Bangladesh, India to clash for title

Bangladesh and India will play in the final of the SAFF U-18 Championship 2019 final on Sunday after winning their respective semi-final ties 4-0 at the APF Stadium in Kathmandu on Friday.

Bangladesh defeated Bhutan 4-0 while India saw off Maldives with the same scoreline to set up a repeat of their Group B clash which ended 0-0.

Bhutan will face Maldives in the third-place playoff on Sunday.

Bangladesh took the lead through Mohammad Tanbir Hossain in the 16th minute.

They furthered their advantage with goals from Mohammad Foysal Ahmed Fahim in the 27th minute and Mohammad Maraz Hossain five minutes later. Dipok Roy completed the win in the 87th minute.


India were also quick in finding their opening goal with Narender Gahlot rising high to nod home a corner in the seventh minute.

The lead was doubled a minute into first half stoppage time as Muhammed Rafi's header saw the ball hit the ground, only for his shin to push the ball into the net.

India were content to protect their lead in the second half, allowing Maldives to come at them but were not really troubled.

They scored their third when Manvir Singh capitalised on a mistake by the Maldives goalkeeper in the 79th minute and Ninthoi volleyed home from outside the box two minutes later to complete an emphatic win.

Read more
  • 2019-09-25

Bhutan face Bangladesh while India play Maldives in the semifinals

Bhutan face Bangladesh while India play Maldives in the semifinals of the ongoing SAFF U18 Championship 2019 that is being held at APF Stadium, Halchowk.

The Bhutan U18 team became the first team to reach the semifinals of the SAFF tournament. Bhutan defeated defending champions Nepal 3-0 and played goalless draw against Maldives in their group matches to top the group with four points.

Likewise, India emerged into the semifinals as Group ‘B’ leader as per the draw lot rule.

India after defeating Sri Lanka 3-0 in their last match today collected four points in total to tie with Bangladesh - who had defeated Sri Lanka 3-0 and played goalless draw with India.

The semifinals are set on 27 September.

Read more
Leave a Message