ANFA holds meeting with clubs over 'A' Division League

  • 2021-07-25

All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) hosted a meeting with clubs on Sunday regarding the Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021 scheduled to begin from September 19.

Representatives of all 14 'A' Division Clubs took part in the meeting at ANFA Complex in Satdobato.

Clubs said they were committed to play the league but expressed their concern about the health and safety of the players.

Brigade Boys Club's President Lal Kumar Pun said health of the players should be prioritized while playing the league given the health ministry has warned about a possible third phase of Covid-19 infection in the country. Three Star Club's General Secretary Sanjib Shilpakar said their earlier memorandum to ANFA was not about halting the league but was to make it more systematized.

Newly-promoted Satdobato Youth Club's President Kapil Rana Magar said every clubs should weigh up and plan for the worst-case scenario for the league. Nepal APF Club's Pankaj Chand, Himalayan Sherpa Club Team Manager Bijen Pudasaini, Friends Club President Deepak Thapa, Jawalakhel Youth Club President Mahendra Chhetri, Machhindra Club President Sunil Kapali, New Road Team President Sundar Joshi, Nepal Police Club's Ananta Thapa, Sankata Club acting President Surendra Shikhrakar, Chyasal Youth Club Pradip Byanjankar and Tribhuvan Army Football Club President Shashikaran Rayamajhi also spoke in the meeting.

The clubs representatives said players' health should be put first by carefully calculating every risks that could hamper the league.

ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa said ANFA would leave no stone unturned to protect the player's health and conduct the league in a planned manner. "Football should be conducted at any cost. We will take permission from the government and follow all the health and safety measures while conducting the league," Sherpa said.

The president added they have successfully conducted international football during the pandemic and would also conduct the national tournament in the same manner.

The clubs have agreed to iron out all the differences in another meeting called on August 1.

ANFA Senior Vice President Pankaj Nembang, Vice President Bir Bahadur Khadka, General Secretary Indraman Tuladhar, Spokesperson and Executive Committee member Kiran Rai, League Committee Coordinator Bigyan Raj Sharma, among other ANFA officials were present in the meeting.

See Also