'A' Division League to begin from November 15

  • 2021-08-01

Clubs have agreed to start the Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021 from November 15.

A meeting between All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) and 'A' Division Clubs at ANFA Complex took the decision to start the league on the aforementioned date.

Earlier, the clubs had agreed to start the league from September 19 but with the deferral of SAFF Championship to the first week of October, the league has also been pushed back.

Prize money for the champions has also been increased to Rs 7.5 million from last year's Rs 5 million. The second and third placed clubs will win a cash prize of Rs 5 million and 2.5 million respectively. Clubs will be provided Rs 2 million each as preparation money.

Two bottom-placed teams will be relegated to 'B' Division after the conclusion of the league.

The league will be conducted on a single round basis. In the previous meeting clubs had agreed to a super eight and bottom six rounds to decide on the champions and relegation but the decision was scrapped due to the Covid-19 situation.

Clubs have also agreed to hold further talks regarding the coronavirus situation in the future. Players' registration for the league has already started.

Representatives of all 'A' Division clubs had taken part in the meeting.

ANFA General Secretary Indraman Tuladhar, Assistant General Secretary Arun Man Joshi, League Committee Coordinator Bigyan Raj Sharma, League Director Sanjeb Mishra, among others, were also present in the discussion.

See Also