Jawalakhel stun Machhindra, Satdobato defeat NRT

  • 2023-03-05

Jawalakhel Youth Club (JYC) pulled off a stunning 3-1 victory over defending champions Machhindra Football Club 3-1 in the Martyr's Memorial A Division League 2023 on Sunday.

In the third match of the day at the Dasharath Stadium at 5:30 pm, MFC took the lead through Devendra Tamang's well-taken free-kick before Hishub Thapaliya levelled for JYC in the second half. An error by MFC's goalkeeper Bishal Shrestha gave JYC the lead four minutes later. Shrestha mistimed his shot shooting directly to Nokoto Synous Masoabi who taped the ball into the net. Simanta Thapa scored the team's third in the 71st minute to complete the upset.

In the first match played at Dasharath Stadium, Tribhuvan Army Football Club played a goalless draw against Sankata Club. The two sides shared points after failing convert any of their chances in the game.

Dipak Raj Singh Thakuri scored a brace as Satdobato Youth Club (SYC) defeated New Road Team (NRT) 2-1 at Chyasal Stadium in the first match of the day.

It was an evenly matched competition between the two sides where Thakuri gave SYC the lead in the  45th minute. Nicolas Serge Song levelled the score in the added time but Thakuri scored six minutes from time to secure the victory.

JYC's victory over MFC also concluded the first round of fixtures of the Martyr's Memorial A Division League 2023. The second round of matches will begin from Tuesday.

See Also