AFC agrees to release technical assistance fund for Nepal

Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has agreed to resume the technical assistance fund for All Nepal Football Association (ANFA).

ANFA will now receive the funding as special fund from AFC. ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa called upon AFC General Secretary Dato’ Windsor John and Deputy General Secretary Vahid Kardany in Saudi Arabia on Saturday. The meeting confirmed the continuation of the funding.

The funding will ensure salary for all the district, province and ANFA coaches and heads of all departments.

ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa, in a meeting with AFC President Salman bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa in Bahrain in November last year, had requested to continued funding from the AFC for the coaches remuneration.

In the meeting, AFC president was positive towards the issue.

(File photo)

Read more


Friends Club in precarious situation after another loss

Friends Club's got into a direr situation after losing 3-1 against Tribhuvan Army Football Club in the Qatar Airways Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021/22 on Saturday.

Jagjeet Shrestha, Dinesh Henjan and Suman Aryal scored for the departmental side in the win against a side still looking for their first win of the league.

Friends Club are bottom of the league with just three points from nine matches. TAFC, meanwhile, leapfrogged Sankata Club to third in the table. They have 17 points from nine games, a three point lead over Sankata Club.

Shrestha opened the scoring in the 10th minute when his cross was not judged by Friends goalkeeper Rahul Ramchandra Yadav. Henjan doubled the lead in the 45th.

Friends pulled one back through Jamoul Anthony two minutes after the restart but Aryal restored two-goal cushion in the 71st.

TAFC's head coach Nabin Neupane said they wanted to win all the points from the game to put pressure on the clubs above them. "We could have scored more goals but my players took the games lightly after taking two-goal lead. That led them to score a goal and put the pressure on us. Overall, it was a good game and we grabbed all three points," said Neupane.

Friends head coach Mrigendra Mishra said win in the four remaining games will be the only option for them to stay in the top-tier. "Our remaining games are against clubs in the bottom of the table. We still have hope as this is football and there is hope until the last minute," said Mishra. Mishra said his goalkeeper was at fault in the first two goals which effectively killed the game.

Three Star Club will play against Sankata Club in the other game on Saturday at 4:45 pm.


Read more


Manang's title hopes take a blow after Satdobato loss

Newly-promoted Satdobato Youth Club (SYC) defeated eight-time league champions Manang Marsyangdi Club (MMC) and dealt a blow to MMC's title chances in the Qatar Airways Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021/22 on Friday.

In the second match of the day played at Dasharath Stadium, SYC's foreign players Martins Kayode Ajayi and Martin Delphe Nanga gave them a 2-0 first half lead before MMC's Afeez Olawale pulled one back in the second half.

Nanga stunned the title contenders with an 11th minute lead before Ajayi doubled the advantage in the 38th minute. Olawale halved the deficit in the 57th minute but despite romping up the pressure MMC could not find the equalizer against the side playing in the top flight for the first time.

MMC have 19 points from nine games and remain second in the table, a single point behind MFC.

MMC could have topped the standing with a win but may fall further behind table toppers Machhindra Football Club (MFC) who play Brigade Boys Club on Sunday.

Friends Club take on undefeated Tribhuvan Army Football Club (TAFC) in the first match on Saturday at 1 pm while Three Star Club play another undefeated team Sankata Club in the other match at 4:45 pm.

Read more


APF move five clear of relegation zone after 1-0 victory over Himalayan Sherpa

Head coach Kumar Thapa said APF Football Club (APF) breathed a sigh of relief after moving five points clear of relegation zone following a 1-0 victory over Nepal Ice Himalayan Sherpa Club (HSC) in the Qatar Airways Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021/22 on Friday.

Awas Lamichhane headed in the only goal in the first added minute in the first half. APF had the ball into the net through Aashish Lama just two minutes into the game but was ruled offside.

Thapa said given their points tally and upcoming matches, it was important for them to win today's match. "This win and the points are very vital to us. We can now breathe with relief. Thanks to all the players for delivering in today's game," said Thapa.

HSC's head coach Yugal Kishor Rai said his team played their worst game so far in the league. "We cannot win against a 10th standard school team if we played with the same mentality like today. This easily was the worst game by us so far. There were way too many errors," said Rai.

Manang Marsyangdi Club will play against Satdobato Youth Club in the second match today. The match will begin at 4:45 pm in Dasharath Stadium.

Read more