ANFA Women's League Qualifiers to be held in Surkhet,

ANFA convened a crucial meeting on Monday to outline plans for the organization of the upcoming ANFA Women's League football competition.

The meeting, called to implement ANFA's annual calendar endorsed by the ANFA Ordinary Congress on February 24, drew the plans for the League, which will unfold in two phases: the Qualifiers and the main League.

The Qualifiers will be held in Surkhet district of Karnali Province from April 5 (Chaitra 23) with all seven provincial teams taking part in the competition and top three teams progressing to the League. While ANFA will organize and bear the accommodation and transportation cost of the competition, Karnali District Football Association and Surkhet District Football Association will co-host the event.

ANFA will also seek financial backing from Karnali Sports Development Council for the Qualifiers. The Council will also coordinate the competition.

ANFA will provide Rs 100,000 financial assistance to the provinces for necessary team preparation and selection. The main League will be held in May/June.

The meeting was attended by ANFA President Pankaj Bikram Nembang, Senior Vice President Bir Bahadur Khadka, General Secretary Kiran Rai, Ex-Co members Bikash Narayan Shrestha,  Sarila Shrestha Maleku, also the coordinator of Women's Committee, Pema Dolma Lama, Deputy General Secretary Arun Man Joshi and Vijay Ghale and CEO Indraman Tuladhar.

Similarly in another meeting, ANFA has announced plans to establish a Women's Youth Elite Academy at Chyasal Stadium in Chyasal as part of Mission FIFA Women's World Cup 2027/31.

Discussions centered around the operation of various football academies nationwide and decision was taken to accommodate 30 male players each in existing academies in Dharan, Butwal, and Batsala Devi Secondary School in Sisneri, Makwanpur. The women's academy in Rautahat will also host 30 U-14 women's players.

Read more


National women's team return home, players to receive Rs 51k each

After their remarkable performance as runners-up in the WAFF Women's Championship in Saudi Arabia, members and officials of the national women's team returned home to a hero's welcome on Friday night at Tribhuvan International Airport.

Member of the House of Representatives and former State Minister for Health Dr. Toshima Karki, along with ANFA President Pankaj Bikram Nembang, Senior Vice President Bir Bahadur Khadka, General Secretary Kiran Rai, and Ex-Co members Purushottam Thapa and Tika Lama were among those present to extend their warmest congratulations to the team.

In recognition of their outstanding achievement, President Nembang announced a cash prize of Rs 51,000 for each player of the national team.

Nepal had eased through their way into the final which they lost to Jordan on penalties.

Read more


SAFF U-16 Women's Championship Kicks Off at ANFA Complex

The SAFF U-16 Women's Championship commenced at ANFA Complex on Friday.

Member Secretary of National Sports Council Tanka Lal Ghising inaugurated the event in presence of ANFA President Pankaj Bikram Nembang and General Secretary Kiran Rai.

In the inaugural match, India dominated the field, securing a convincing 7-0 victory over Bhutan. Shveta Rani, Pearl Fernandes, and Anushka Kumari each netted braces, while Anwita Raghuraman added one more goal to India's tally, sealing a comprehensive win.

Nepal is set to kick off their campaign against Bangladesh on Sunday.

For more photos, follow our Facebook page album link here.

Read more


33 players called up for World Cup Qualifiers preliminary squad

Thirty-three players have been called up for the preliminary squad for the upcoming second round matches of World Cup Qualifiers against Bahrain.

Nepal will play against Bahrain on March 21 and March 27.

Head coach Vincenzo Alberto Annese named his squad for the two matches on Thursday.

The team will begin the closed camp from Monday (March 4).

Goalkeepers: Abhishek Baral, Bishal Sunar, Deep Karki, Kiran Chemjong

Defenders: Ajay Chaudhary, Ananta Tamang, Anjal Maharjan, Bimal Panday, Bishal Basnet, Chhiring Lama, Dipendra BK, Rohit Chand, Sanish Shrestha, Sumit Shrestha, Yogesh Gurung

Midfielders: Arik Bista, Bishal Tamang, Kritish Ratna Chhunju, Laken Limbu, Mani Kumar Lama, Manish Dangi, Rohan Karki, Santosh Khatri, Suraj Jeu Thakuri, Utsab Rai

Forwards: Anjan Bista, Ayush Ghalan, Dinesh Henjan, Gillespye Jung Karki, Hisub Thapaliya, Rajesh Pariyar, Sameer Tamang, Sanjeeb Bista

Read more