Bhutan defeat Sri Lanka in record win

Bhutan defeated Sri Lanka 5-0 in the SAFF Women's Championship 2022 in a historic match that also set multiple records tumbling at Dasharath Stadium on Friday.

The 5-0 victory means it is the first win for Bhutan in SAFF Women's competition, first clean sheet and first time the team scored more than one goal in a single match in the regional competition.

Bhutan's best ever result in the SAFF Championship was a 1-1 draw against Sri Lanka in the 2010 SAFF Women's Championship.

Deki Lhazom scored twice and Mangyel Dema, Tshering Lhaden and Galey Wangmo scored one each for Bhutan. Dema gave Bhutan the lead in the 42nd minute before Lhazom scored twice in the 50th and 64th minute.

Lhaden scored five minutes from time and Wangmo scored four minutes after Lhaden scored.

The result means Bhutan now have one foot in the semi-final of the tournament. A victory for Nepal against Sri Lanka in their final group match on September 12 would send Bhutan into the semis for the first time of the tournament.

Sri Lanka, meanwhile, are on the verge of crashing out of the tournament and would need a miracle against Nepal to progress.

Read more


Nepal defeat India in SAFF U-17 Championship, top group

Nepal registered a comfortable 3-1 comeback victory against India in the SAFF U-17 Championship to top their group en route to the semis of the tournament.

India had taken the lead in the 24th minute through Danny Meitei Laishram at Colombo Racecourse. Nepal levelled through Saroj Darlami's spectacular long-range effort in the 45th minute. Darlami controlled a free-kick from Ashwin Ghorasaini and unleashed a powerful shot past the Indian goalkeeper.

It took Nepal just four minutes to take the lead once the game restarted. Unesh Budathoki, also in the scoresheet against Bhutan, found the back of the net from a set-piece after India failed to deal and clear the ball.

Subash Bam made it 3-1 to Nepal in the 68th with a cool and calm finish. Bam dinked the ball over Indian goalkeeper Sahil who had left his line and rushed ahead to clear the ball.

The victory means Nepal will finish top of their group. India also made it to the semis despite the defeat and will face Bangladesh. Two defeats from two matches meant Bhutan have already crashed out of the competition.

Nepal's opposition in the semi-final will be decided by the final group match between Sri Lanka and Maldives. The winner of the match will play against Nepal in the semi-final on September 12.

Read more


Bhagawati Rana Magar appointed head coach of U-15 women's team

ANFA has appointed Bhagawati Rana Magar as the head coach of U-15 women's national team. The team will take part in the U-15 SAFF Women's Championship in Bangladesh from November 1-12.

Mangal Maharjan has been appointed as the assistant coach of the team.

ANFA General Secretary Kiran Rai handed over the appointment letters to the duo at ANFA Complex in Satdobato on Thursday.

Ex Co members Bikash Narayan Shrestha and Sarila Shrestha were also present in the letter handover ceremony. 

Read more


Nepal edge Bhutan in first match, reach semis of SAFF U-17 Championship

Nepal defeated Bhutan 2-1 in their opening match of the SAFF U-17 Championship to reach the semi-final of the tournament.

In the match at Colombo Racecourse in Sri Lanka, Unesh Budathoki and Semanta Thapa scored for Nepal while Jetsune Dorji pulled one back for Bhutan.

Budathoki gave Nepal the lead in the 13th minute of the first half which was doubled by Thapa in the 57th. Dorji halved the deficit in the 68th minute.

Nepal will now play their second group match against India on September 9. The match will decide the group winner and Nepal's opponent in the semi-final.

Bangladesh are drawn against Maldives and hosts Sri Lanka in Group A of the tournament. The top two teams from each group will reach the semi-finals.

Read more