Manohara, Sanepa and Raniban register wins

Manohara United Club defeated Birgunj Youth Academy 4-0 in the Martyr's Memorial 'C' Division League 2022 on Saturday.

Sujan Balampakhi Magar gave Manohara the lead in the seventh minute which was doubled by Ajay Kumar Chaudhary in the 20th. Ashish Shrestha and Binay Khadka scored in the second half (56th and 70th minute respectively) to give Manohara the comfortable lead.

In the second match of the day, Sanepa Club defeated Oasis Club with a hat-trick from Khem Raj Tamang. Tamang scored in the 42nd, 51st and 90th minute of the game for Sanepa.

In a closely contested third match of the day, Raniban Sports Club edged Swoyambhu Club 4-3. Kamal Debua scored a brace in for Raniban in the 71st and 87th minute. Kuber Bahadur Singh (27th minute) and Madhav Bhandari (47th minute) scored the other two goals.

Swoyambhu's goals were scored by Roshan Chhetri in the second, Abishek Mahato in the 34th and Rajiv Shreesh Magar in the 55th minute.

Read more


Buddhi Bahadur Gurung unanimous as Referee Association president

Buddhi Bahadur Gurung has been unanimously elected as the President of ANFA Referee Association.

The newly-elected working committee was handed over letter of appreciation by ANFA President Karma Tshering Sherpa.

Shreeram Ranjitkar, Binod KC and Madhu Sudan Khanal have been elected as the vice president of the association. Similarly, Sailesh Joshi, Birendra Bahadur Panday, Nabindra Maharjan, Shrawan Kumar Tamang, Prakash Nath Shrestha, Pradip Kumar Basnet, Shukra tamang and Santosh Gurung were elected as the members of the association.

Kalpana Sharma was elected as the women member of the association.

The thirteen candidates were the only candidates who had vied for their respective position. Since no one withdrew the name, the election committee declared all the candidates unanimous. 

Read more


Bikram Lama unanimously elected as head of Players Association

Nepali international Bikram Lama has been unanimously elected as the President of Players Association.

A meeting of Election Committee of the Players Association on Sunday decided to endorse Lama's name to the head of Players Association.

Bikesh Kuthu, Sujal Shrestha and Biraj Maharjan were elected as the vice president while Ranjit Dhimal, Ananta Tamang, Bishal Rai, Bimal Gharti Magar, Saroj Dahal, Rohit Chand and Bishal Shrestha became its members. The vice president and members were also elected unanimously.  

ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa handed over letter of appreciation to the newly-elected working committee and wished them well for their tenure.

Speaking in the programme, newly-elected president Lama hoped to raise the grievances and work for the overall welfare of the players.

Read more


Martyr's Memorial 'C' Division League 2022 kicks-off

The Martyr's Memorial 'C' Division League 2022 has begun at ANFA Complex from Friday.

ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa inaugurated the event by handing over the match ball to the officials.

Fourteen clubs are taking part in the competition. Top two teams will be promoted to the B Division while the bottom two teams will be relegated to C Division Qualifiers.

In the first day of the tournament, Mahabir Club, RC 32 Football Academy and Planning Boys United won their respective matches.

Mahabir Club defeated Sports Academy Sanga 2-1 and RC 32 edged 1-0 past Khalibari Youth Club. Planning Boys defeated Pulchowk Sports Club 1-0.

Click here for match summaries of the tournament.

Read more