Tribhuvan Army defeat NRT, level points with third-placed Sankata

Tribhuvan Army Football Club (TAFC) defeated New Road Team (NRT) 1-0 and levelled points with third placed Sankata Club in the Qatar Airways Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021/22 on Saturday.

Dinesh Henjan scored the only goal of the game for TAFC in the 17th minute. Henjan headed in the goal after he dived in to meet Jagjeet Shrestha's cross.

TAFC were a better side in the game maintaining possession and attacking the opposition goal. George Prince Karki and Henjan both had wonderful opportunities to double the lead but NRT's goalkeeper Ajit Prajapati was in solid form to quell their attacks.

TAFC's head coach Nabin Neupane said his side had to win to maintain the pace with teams above them and his players performed their duties well. "My players played as per our plan. We stopped opposition's players from creating chances. This win also solidifies our chances of a top four finish," said Neupane.

NRT's Raju Kaji Shakya said his players had an off day at the job and came under severe pressure. "I think we didn't even one shot on target in today's game. I don't know if it was my players who were switched off or my tactics didn't work," said Shakya.

NRT remain at seventh place in the table with 10 points from eight games. TAFC and Sankata are level on 14 points but Sankata lead with better goal difference.

Three Star Club will play Himalayan Sherpa Club in the only game on Sunday. The game will be played at 4:45 pm at Dasharath Stadium.

Read more


Manang thrash Chyasal 5-0, maintain cent percent result in Pokhara

Manang Marsyangdi Club (MMC) hammered Chyasal Youth Club (CYC) 5-0 to register the biggest win of the season so far in the Qatar Airways Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021/22 on Saturday.

Afeez Olawale scored a hat-trick and Oluwawunmi Somide and Dinesh Rajbanshi scored the other two goals in the thrashing. It is the second hat-trick of the league with the first one scored by Satdobato Youth Club's Martins Ajayi scoring the first in their 4-1 win over APF Football Club.

Somide opned the scoring in the third minute before Olawale made it 2-0 before the break for Manang in the 43rd. After Rajbanshi made it 3-0 in the 86th, Olawale scored two goals in the added minutes to complete his hat-trick and the win for MMC.

MMC also maintained a cent percent result in Pokhara winning all their three matches there. They defeated Nepal Police Club 3-1 and edged Brigade Boys Club 1-0 in the games in Pokhara.

MMC have cut the point deficit to leaders Machhindra Football Club (MFC) to one point. MMC have 19 from eight games while MFC have 20.

Read more


Machhindra extend lead at top after victory over bottom-placed Friends

Machhindra Football Club (MFC) defeated Friends Club 1-0 and moved four points clear at the top of the table in the Qatar Airways Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021/22 on Saturday.

MFC found a way to win through an own goal from Ronell Anthony Paul in the 68th minute. They were out of rhythm most of the game and missed two glorious opportunities that fell upon Abhishek Rijal and Sunil Bal. Rijal shot straight to the keeper while Bal shot wide from close range.

MFC now have 20 points from eight games and are four points clear of second-placed Manang Marsyangdi Club (MMC) who play Chyasal Youth Club in Pokhara. Friends, meanwhile, are bottom of the league with three points and without a win in the league.

MFC's coach Prabesh Katuwal agreed his team was not fluent in their performance against Friends. "We took them easy. But it is always difficult to play against a team fighting to escape relegation. But we are happy for the three points," said Katuwal.

Friends Mrigendra Mishra said mistake against the top side cost them the game. "We are in a precarious situation in the table and we wanted to win. But a simple mistake cost us the game today," Mishra said.

The second game of the day at Dasharath Stadium is between New Road Team and Tribhuvan Army Football Club at 4:45 pm.

Read more


APF, Jawalakhel share points after goalless stalemate

APF Football Club (APF) and Jawalakhel Youth Club (JYC) shared points after a goalless in the Qatar Airways Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League 2021/22 on Friday.

Both the sides missed chances to take all the three points at Dasharath Stadium.

JYC are currently ninth in the table with eight points from eight matches. APF are a place below JYC with seven points.

Table-toppers Machhindra Football Club will play Friends Club in the first match at 1 pm in Dasharath Stadium. The second match between Manang Marsyangdi Club and Chyasal Youth Club will be played in Pokhara Stadium at 2 pm while the third match will be played at 4:45 pm in Dasharath Stadium between New Road Team and Tribhuvan Army Football Club.

Read more