RC 32, Sports Academy Sanga and Raniban Sports Club promoted to C division

RC 32, Sports Academy Sanga and Raniban Sports Club have been promoted to 'C' division after winning the final matches.

RC 32 defeated Samaj Sewi Club 5-3 in penalty shoot-out after the regular time finished in 2-2 draw. Babin Bohora and Bibek Santoshi had scored for RC 32 while Hari Bahadur Ale Magar and Khagendra Bayalkoti scored for Samaj Sewi Club.

Sports Academy Sanga defeated Samyukta Namuna Youth Club 1-0. Aaditya Karki scored the only goal for Sports Academy.

Raniban Sports Club won 1-0 against Nuwakot United FC courtesy of goal from Bivek Sanjel.

Read more


Nepal still on top and favorites for final despite India defeat

Nepal lost to India but are still in good position to secure their place in the final of the SAFF Championship.

Indian skipper Sunil Chhetri scored the only goal of the game in the 82nd minute to give the much needed win for India.

Nepal are top with six points from three games, level on points with second-placed Maldives, and play their final group game against fourth-placed Bangladesh on four points. India, with five points, take on Maldives with all four teams still in contention for the top two spots.

With India needing to secure a win to make their life easy for the finals, Nepal held firm in their own half and were happy to prevent them from scoring. Nepal had few chances in the game while India wasted those which fell to them.

Chhetri's shot in the 21st minute was saved by Kiran Kumar Limbu and his header from a corner three minutes later sailed over the bar. Tej Tamang's cross in the 41st minute was cleared by Shubhasish Bose.

In the second half, India further stepped up the pressure on Nepal with Yasir Mohammad's shot after a good spell of run was comfortably saved by Limbu. The closest they came to break the deadlock was in the 58th minute when Manvir Singh headed Yasir's cross but saw it saved by Limbu. Shubhasish headed straight to Limbu after the ball came off after Chhetri could not time his header instead hitting his shoulder in the 77th minute.

Chhetri finally scored in the 82nd minute when Farukh Chaudhary's flicked his header into Chhetri's path who took this opportunity with his left-footed shot from inside the six yard box.

Nepal began to attack after going behind but with India holding firm, ran out of time to find the equalizer.

Nepal and Maldives now need at least a point to reach the final while Bangladesh and India both have to win.

Read more


Deputy Mayor Cup National Women's League qualifiers from October 21

The Deputy Mayor Cup National Women's League qualifiers will begin from October 21 in ANFA Complex Satdobato.

Thirty-one teams will take part in the competition which will be held in league cum knockout format.

The top two teams will be qualified for National Women's League 2078.

The winner will receive a cash prize of NRs 500,000 while the runner-up will get NRs 300,000. The Fair Play Team will receive NRs 50,000 while the cash prize of same amount will also be awarded to the Best Player. Award of NRs 20,000 will be given to the best striker, midfielder, defender, goalkeeper and coach.

The player-of-the-match will also receive a prize of NRs 5,000 per match. Each teams will receive NRs 50,000 as preparation money.

Read more


ANFA Instructor Workshop concludes

A three-day ANFA Instructor Workshop has concluded on Sunday.

Ten participants took part in the course which had begun on Friday.

ANFA Technical Director Gary Phillips conducted the course.

Participants: Hari Khadka, Bhagwati Rana Magar, Nabin Maharjan, Sanjeet Singh, Yugal Kishor Rai, Chetan Ghimire, Sanoj Shrestha, Chet Narayan Shrestha, Rabindra Silakar, Norio Tsukitate  

Read more