Head Coach Khadka names final squad for SAFF

March 7, 2019 - Nepal National Women’s Football Team head coach Hari Khadka has today finalized Nepal’s 20-player squad for the SAFF Women’s Championship 2019.  

Hari Khadka’s final 20- player selection features six members from Nepal U-19 team.

“I have been pleased with the efforts of all the players during the preparation camp in Itahari, Jhapa and Biratagar” said Hari Khadka.

“The step of selection process to final squad for SAFF has been difficult because the players have given their best to survive the cut throat competition.”

“I believe that the squad can make Nepal proud in the biggest biennial championship taking place here this time.” added Khadka.

The mega event is scheduled to kick off from March 12 in Biratnagar.

Nepal face Bhutan in the opening of the championship on March 12 at 15:00Hrs at Sahid Rangashala

Anu Lama (FW), Bimala Chaudhary (MF)and Sunita Chaudhary (DF), who were in the squad for the Hero Gold Cup Women’s International Tournament in India, have made their departure from the squad.


The Squads:

Goalkeepers: Anjana Rana Magar, Usha Nath, Anjila Tumbapo Subba.

Defenders: Hira Kumari Bhujel, Gita Rana, Punam Jargha Magar, Amrita Jaishi, Kabita Dhimal, Puja Rana, Man Maya Limbu.

Midfielders: Anita Basnet, Dipa Rai, Manjali Kumari Yonjan, Sharmila Thapa, Saru Limbu, Renuka Nagarkote, Anita KC.

Forwards: Rekha  Poudel, Niru Thapa (C), Sabitra Bhandari.

Read more


Two Friendly Lined up for Nepal Men's Team

7 March 2019 - The All Nepal Football Association can confirm that the Nepal National Men’s Football Team will play two-friendly matches against the national team of Kuwait and Malaysia.

Nepal will play against Kuwait on March 21 in Kuwait and will play against Malaysia five days later on March 26 in Malaysia.

It would be fifth and seventh time for Nepal to face Kuwait and Malaysia respectively.

Nepal’s newly appointed head coach Johan Kalin will soon finalized the squad for the friendlies

Head coach Kalin said: “As this is my first task, the two matches will be valuable match experience for me and the team. All young players (U-23) are in the preparatory camp for AFC U-23 Championship Thailand 2020 Qualifiers so there are some new faces in my team. It will be a test for us to see where we are at the moment. We expect two tough games.”  

The Swedish is assisted by Kiran Shrestha for building up the team for the matches.

Read more


RCT clinch Martyr's Memorial 'B' Division title

Rani Pokhari Corner Team (RCT) won the Martyr’s Memorial ‘B’ Division League title defeating Shree Bhagwati Club 1-0 in their final match of the final round.

RCT was backed by Lokendra Bahadur Karki to give RCT a 1-0 win at the ANFA Complex, Satdobato.

Karki headed ball home in the 23rd minute on a Unam Budathoki’s corner kick.

RCT claimed the title with clear nine points in the super league. Shree Bhagwati Club with six points finished second.

Likewise, Tushal Yuba Club defeated Satdobato Youth 2-1 as they claim third position in the league.

The winner bagged Rs. 800, 000 while runner-up Shree Bhagwati Club received Rs. 500, 000.

Similarly, the third and the forth team were rewarded with Rs. 300, 000 and Rs. 200, 000 respectively.

The players from each best category also received Rs. 25,000 cash.

Birendra Limbu (Satdobato), Darshan Gurung (Shree Bhagwati), Lokendra Bahadur Karki (RCT), Binod Sodari (Tushal), Baiju Kapali (RCT) collected the prize each for Best forward, midfield, defense, goalkeeper and coach.  

Shree Kumari Club was then awarded the Fair Play Trophy. The team also received Rs. 25, 000.

Read more


Martyr's Memorial 'C' Division League from March 6

Martyr’s Memorial ‘C’ Division League is all set to begin from March 6, 2019 at the ANFA Complex, Satdobato.

A total of 11 ‘C’ division clubs are participating in the league that will be played in round robin rule.

The teams are categorized in two groups. Group ‘A’ consists of Swoyambhu Club, Kshamadevi Planning Boys United, Oasis Club, Manohara Akikrit Youth Club, Sano Gaucharan Yuba Club and Samajik Yuba Club.

Likewise, Birgunj Youth Academy, Khalibari Yuba Football Club, Mahabir Studies and Athletics Association, Sanepa Club and Samaj Kalyan Khelkud Kendra Club are in Group ‘B’.

Top two teams from each group will qualify for final round.

Meanwhile, the points from the group stage will not be counted in the final round.   

The champion will take Rs. 500,000 while the runner-up will be awarded with Rs. 300,000.

Similarly, the third and the fourth team will bag Rs. 200,000 and Rs. 100,000 respectively.

In the opening day, Khalibari Yuba Club will take on Samaj Kalyan at 12:45 PM while Mahabir Studies & Athletics Association will play Sanepa Club at 3:45 PM.

The total estimated budget of the league is 10 million.

The bottom two teams (one from each group) will be penalized with one point in next league. Also, the FA will deduct Rs. 50, 000 of money from the preparation money. 

The best players in various positions and coach will get Rs 25,000 each.

Read more