C Division League to begin from February 27

The Martyrs Memorial C Division League 2023 will begin from February 27. 

A meeting between all Nepal Football Association and representatives from C division clubs at ANFA Complex in Satdobato on Wednesday agreed on the new commencement date of the league. Matches of the league will be played in single round robin format. 

During the discussion on the league, the clubs also agreed to implement the club licensing regulations. 

ANFA General Secretary Kiran Rai, Treasurer Rabindra Joshi, Ex Co member Purushottam Thapa, Spokesperson Suresh Shah and representative from C division clubs were present in the meeting.

Read more


National team former coach Bhim Thapa no more

Former coach of national men's football team Bhim Thapa passed away on Thursday night. He was 75.

Thapa collapsed at his home in Kuleshwor and was rushed to Mediciti Hospital where doctors pronounced him dead.

Thapa had represented the national team in the U-19 Asian Championship in 1971 in Japan. He also played for New Road Team, Thamel, Mahabir Club in club competitions.

Thapa began his coaching career after completion of his playing days. He had worked as the Assistant General Secretary of ANFA during the presidential tenure of Rukma Shamsher Rana. He is also a former Technical Director of ANFA.

Thapa had prepared the detailed action plan when ANFA had initiated the ANFA Academy proposal.

His body will be kept at ANFA Complex on Friday afternoon at 2:30 pm for final tributes. He will be cremated later today at Pashupati Aryaghat.

Read more


Nepal lose 2-0 to Yemen

Nepal lost 2-0 to Yemen in the second match of the second round of World Cup Qualifiers at the Dasharath Stadium on Tuesday.

Yemen scored both the goals in the second half of the match as Nepal still look for their first points in the second round. Nepal had lost their first match to UAE on November 16 in Dubai.

After a dull first half display, the game thrust in the second half. Substitute Hisub Thapaliya shot straight at the keeper when he had the best of chances to give Nepal the lead in the 61st minute of the game. Yemen's goal in the 65th minute was ruled off for offside.

Yemen took the lead in the 73rd minute of the match through a wonder strike form Omar Abdullah Al-Dahi. Dahi wiggled past Nepali defender to bury the ball into the top corner with a sweet left-footed strike.

Rajesh Pariyar debuted for the national side when he replaced Anjan Bista in the 79th minute.

Yemen doubled the lead and ensured victory in the 90th minute when Mohammed Abdullah Al-Dahi dinked the ball over Nepali skipper Kiran Chemjon for the second goal.

The remaining matches of the Qualifier will now be played in March.

Read more


Nepal look to get back to winning ways against Yemen

Nepal will look to bounce back from the 4-0 defeat against UAE in the second round of World Cup Qualifiers when they face Yemen at Dasharath Stadium on Tuesday.

Nepal had lost to UAE in Dubai on November 16 and will face Yemen at the national stadium at 7 pm.

Coaches and captain from both the sides address a pre-match press conference on Monday and laid out their claims for the match. Yemen head coach Miroslav Soukup said Nepal will have the home advantage but brushed off if the late evening start would work to their advantage. He also praised the Nepali side for their performance against UAE.

"Nepal created chances and registered shots against UAE which is good. We feel the weather here has been good and expect a good crowd," said Soukup.

Nepal's head coach Vincenzo Alberto Annese he had requested ANFA for the late start and requested fans to get behind their team on Tuesday. "The tickets are also really cheap. I request the fans to get behind their team on matchday," he said.

ANFA Vice President Deepak Khatiwada, speaking in the press meet after the PMPC, said ANFA has arranged buses for fans to return home. "We have arranged 15 buses which will run in various routes. Fans can travel on those buses by showing their tickets," he said.

The match will be broadcasted live by NTV Plus.

Read more