National Technical Network Seminar concludes

The three-day National Technical Network Seminar 2020 has concluded on Monday.

District and provincial coaches from all the provinces took part in the seminar. Coaches from Province 1 and 2 took part on Saturday followed by coaches of Bagmati Province, Gandaki Province and Lumbini Province on Sunday. The seminar concluded with coaches from Karnali Province and Sudurpaschim Province participation on Monday.

ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa, Vice Presidents Krishna Bahadur Thapa and Upendra Man Singh, chiefs of all four departments and other ANFA officials also took part in the seminar.

Giving his welcome speech in the final day, Vice President Singh thanked all the coaches whose dedication meant ANFA was awarded with AFC Grassroots Charter Memberships by Asian Football Confederation (AFC). ANFA was awarded with Bronze Membership following Nepal's outstanding achievements in the development of football in October.

ANFA President Sherpa said the focus of the football governing should be towards improving the technical aspect of the game. He also stressed on the need for ANFA to become sustainable in the future.

ANFA Technical Director Gary Phillips gave a presentation on the Nepali philosophy of football during the three-day seminar.

Pic: Second day of the seminar

Read more


SAFF Executive Committee meeting held

An Executive Committee meeting of South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) was held on Monday.

The meeting was held virtually over zoom and was presided by SAFF President Kazi Md. Salahuddin.

The meeting approved the revised SAFF Statues and standing orders of SAFF Congress. Similarly, the SAFF Electoral Code, SAFF Competition calender for 2021, budget and audited account for financial year 2019 were also approved by the meeting.

SAFF has also released the dates for various youth competitions but are subject to the AFC qualifiers scheduled for next year.

As per the calender, the SAFF Championship will be held from September 14-25 in Bangladesh while SAFF U-16 Women’s Championship from August 18-27. Similarly, the SAFF U-19 Women’s Championship is scheduled from July 13-22, SAFF U-15 Championship from October 1-10 and SAFF U-18 Championship from October 15-24.

The venues for all championship except for SAFF Championship have not been confirmed.

Read more


Discussion on statute amendment held in Province 1

A discussion was held on statute amendment in Province 1 on Monday.

ANFA Spokesperson and Executive Member Kiran Rai held a positive discussion on the amendment with representatives from 11 District Football Associations of Province 1 at ANFA Technical Center in Dharan.

ANFA Honorary Senior Vice President Kishor Rai and Executive Committee member Deepak Rai were also present in the discussion.

Representatives from district give their inputs into the amendment during the discussion. 

Read more


Bikram, Bimal to undergo treatment in Aspetar, Qatar

National men’s football team members Bikram Lama and Bimal Gharti Magar will undergo treatment on their respective injuries in Qatar.

ANFA had requested Qatar Football Association regarding the treatment of the duo at Aspetar, a specialised orthopaedic and sports medicine hospital, which the latter duly agreed.

Lama’s treatment will be the follow up on his fractured leg which he injured during club duty in 2018. Gharti Magar suffered serious injury to his right knee during national team training on December 18.

The injury and rehabilitation means both players will be sidelined for a significant amount of time.

Read more